Prior to the development of the Model Ordinance to encourage new fair and affordable housing, at least  31 Westchester municipalities had already adopted some form of local regulations related to affordable housings. Several of these ordinances include elements of regulations similar to those found in the Model Ordinance, while others are very limited in their scope as compared to the Model Ordinance. Several municipalities have had their previous regulations superceded, amended or replaced by regulations developed in response to the new Model Ordinance.

Below is a list of municipalities that adopted affordable housing regulations prior to the Model Ordinance. Many of these municipalities’ zoning ordinances can be found at the General Code Web site.  


  • New Rochelle
  • Peekskill
  • Rye
  • White Plains
  • Yonkers


  • Briarcliff Manor
  • Croton-on-Hudson
  • Dobbs Ferry
  • Elmsford
  • Hastings-on-Hudson
  • Irvington
  • Mamaroneck
  • Ossining
  • Pleasantville
  • Port Chester
  • Rye Brook
  • Tarrytown
  • Tuckahoe


  • Bedford
  • Cortlandt
  • Greenburgh
  • Lewisboro
  • Mamaroneck
  • Mount Pleasant
  • New Castle
  • North Castle
  • North Salem
  • Ossining
  • Pound Ridge
  • Somers
  • Yorktown