The Emergency Tenants Protection Act of 1974 (ETPA) established a County Rent Guidelines Board which sets the rent adjustments for renewal and vacancy leases in ETPA covered apartments. For a building to be covered by ETPA, it must be located in a municipality that has adopted the Emergency Tenants Protection Act. ETPA is a state law which provides for rent stabilization and also provides other protections to tenants besides limitation on the amount of rent.

Which communities have adopted ETPA and how many apartment units are required to be included in this law?
Communities that have adopted ETPA and the minimum number of units in a building to require ETPA coverage:

  • Croton (6)
  • Dobbs Ferry (6)
  • Eastchester (6)
  • Greenburgh (6)
  • Harrison (6)
  • Hastings (6)  
  • Irvington (20)
  • Larchmont (6)
  • Mamaroneck Town (6)
  • Mount Kisco (16)
  • Mount Vernon (6)
  • New Rochelle (6)
  • Pleasantville (20)
  • Port Chester (12)
  • Sleepy Hollow (10)
  • Tarrytown (6)
  • White Plains (6)
  • Yonkers (6)

What exactly is rent control?
Rent control limits the rent an owner may charge for an apartment and restricts the right of any owner to evict tenants. Some municipalities adopted rent control for apartments built before 1947. These controls apply to tenants who have not moved from a rent controlled apartment since July 1, 1971. Other increases can occur when the landlord undertakes major repairs, when services are increased with the tenant’s consent, or when the property is not yielding a 7.5 percent return. Communities with rent controlled apartments are:

  • Ardsley
  • Dobbs Ferry
  • Eastchester
  • Greenburgh
  • Harrison
  • Hastings
  • Larchmont
  • Mamaroneck Town
  • Mamaroneck Village
  • Mount Vernon
  • New Rochelle
  • Sleepy Hollow
  • Tarrytown
  • Tuckahoe
  • White Plains
  • Yonkers

Senior Citizen or Diability Rent Increase Exemption Program

The Rent Increase Exemption Program provides an exemption from rent increases to Westchester tenants:
• Who are 62 years of age or older or disabled (see definitions)
• Who live in a rent-regulated apartment
• Whose annual household income qualifies (see Definition of maximum income)
• Whose rent has been increased and represents more than one third (1/3) of the total household income

Tenants who live in private homes, Public Housing Authority Residences or receive Section 8 rental subsidies do not qualify for this benefit.


To apply for rent increase exemption follow the instructions in the Application.  Also see the fact sheets for Senior Citizens and Disabled Persons.


Where can I get further information about these programs?
These are state programs. Contact the New York State Division of Housing and Community Renewal: Rent Stabilization/Control in their White Plains office at (914) 948-4434.